Religion & Fiction Newsletter
Religion & Fiction Podcast
R & F Podcast Episode 016 | That '90s Apocalypse: The Context of the "Left Behind" Series (Pt. 1)
0:00
-28:58

R & F Podcast Episode 016 | That '90s Apocalypse: The Context of the "Left Behind" Series (Pt. 1)

The Left Behind series has sold 80 million books across the 16-book epic end-times sage.

Which I’m now just reading :)

Mostly because I wasn’t a reader when it original came out 25 years ago, but also because I didn’t want it to influence the writing of my own end times adventure series. Now that I’m finished with that 12th and final episode, I thought I would read book 1 in the run-up to the launch of End Times Chronicles.

And I’ve got thoughts!

Because I want to engage like-minded religious fiction readers and explore the intersection of the sacred and story, I thought I would dive into this religious fiction phenomenon. First up: the historical and literary context of the story, and some of what I’ve appreciated about both related to the book(s).

Next week I’ll dive into the theological context, especially since I diverge from the authors’ perspective on the Book of Revelation and the events of the End Times. Don’t worry, these aren’t take-down, smack-down episodes. Just a way to engage a wildly popular apocalyptic series during what seem like apocalyptic times :) Should be fun!

And sorry to disappoint, but neither Kirk Cameron nor Nicholas Cage make a guest appearance. Maybe next episode ;0

Question: Have you read the series? If so, what did you think of it? Did it impact your own spiritual journey at all?

So far, I’m engaged with the story and am interested how the authors connect it to their perspective on Revelation events. And because I’m a religious writer, I’m always interested in what’s behind stories. Which is why I’m poking behind the curtain the next few weeks. Check it out and let me know what you think!


Very soon I am launching Antichrist Rising with a fun Kickstarter campaign that will get you mega discounts on ebooks and audiobooks, signed paperbacks and exclusive hardcovers, AND some pretty sweet End Times swag.

These are the final 4 books in the fast-paced 12-book adventure living the events from the Book of Revelation in the inventive global apocalyptic science fiction time-travel saga you may not even know about :)

Follow along >>> www.endtimesworld.com

ANNND because I think you all are pretty swell, I’m giving my superfans an EXCLUSIVE 50% off the series buying direct from my bookstore. You can grab them on most online retailers for every ereading device, but CLICK HERE and drop discount code ENDTIMES50 at checkout to start the saga now on the cheap.


J. A. Bouma believes nobody should have to read bad religious fiction—whether it’s cheesy plots with pat answers or misrepresentations of the Christian faith and the Bible. So he tells compelling, propulsive stories that thrill as much as inspire, while offering a dose of insight along the way. Available at most online retailers and direct: shop.jabouma.com.

0 Comments
Religion & Fiction Newsletter
Religion & Fiction Podcast
The intersection of the sacred and story, offering a space of short stories that inspire and thrill with commentary drawing out the religious elements of our favorite yarns.